Breaking News

Voting under way for Label Industry Global Awards

March 13, 2007

The fourth annual Label Industry Global Awards will be presented in September at Labelexpo Europe 2007. Nominations for the four awards have been posted online, and members of the industry are eligible to vote for the nominees today. An explanation of each award is accessible, as is the list of nominees.

Foremost among the awards is the R. Stanton Avery Lifetime Achievement Award. This award recognizes the values and vision of Stan Avery, the founder of pressure sensitive labeling, and is presented to a high profile industry veteran. This year’s nominees are Angelo Bartesaghi of Omet, Joseph Weber Jr. of Weber Marking Systems, Tom Rink of Ritrama, Jaume Puigbó of Caposa Group, Andrew Jack of Dow Corning, Helmut Schreiner of Schreiner Group, and Jørgen Gerhardt of Gerhardt Engraving.

The European Converter of the Year award is given to a company with a long record of innovation and pan-European product sales, or global suppliers in specialist or niche markets. Nominees are Pago, Drorys Etichette, Fix-a-Form/Denny Brothers, Arca Etichette, Herma, Illospear (formerly Illochroma), Schreiner Group, and Caposa Group.

The Continuous Innovation Award is presented to a long-established supplier or converter company that has demonstrated innovation and pioneering efforts, has developed markets and products to benefit the industry, is involved in the industry, is environmentally aware and active, and several other criteria. The nominees are RotoMetrics, Rotoflex, XSYS Print Solutions, Dow Corning, Gerhardt Engraving, AB Graphics International, ExxonMobil, UPM Raflatac, and Kocher + Beck.

The New Innovation Award has criteria similar to the Continuous Innovation Award, but it is presented to a new supplier or converter company. This year’s nominees are AVT (Advanced Vision Technologies), DiMS, Bielomatik, Stork Prints, GEW, and Xeikon.
blog comments powered by Disqus
  • New press debuts at Gallus Innovation Days

    New press debuts at Gallus Innovation Days

    Greg Hrinya, Associate Editor||September 26, 2016
    The Gallus Labelmaster capitalizes on expertise from parent company Heidelberg, building on the Speedmaster offset platform.

  • EskoWorld 2016 provides drupa report

    Greg Hrinya, Associate Editor||September 22, 2016
    “Digital was a very clear and striving theme across drupa, and more specifically inkjet,” said Jan de Roeck

  • Dollars and sense at Labelexpo

    Dollars and sense at Labelexpo

    Steve Katz, Editor||September 20, 2016
    Suppliers seem aware of the crowded digital press marketplace and the trepidation of the cost-concious first time buyer.

  • Getting Educated at Labelexpo

    Getting Educated at Labelexpo

    Steve Katz, Editor||September 7, 2016
    With a wide range of presentations, expert-led master classes and machinery demonstrations, there is no shortage of learning

  • Drupa 2016 a ‘resounding success’

    Drupa 2016 a ‘resounding success’

    Steve Katz, Editor||July 15, 2016
    The label industry was well-represented as visitors showed strong interest in the latest printing technologies.

  • Label & Narrow Web Job Market Report

    Label & Narrow Web Job Market Report

    Dan Miller||July 15, 2016
    A look at the trends and challenges affecting the label industry’s talent search.