Breaking News

FTA presents 2009 awards and honors

May 4, 2009

Among the winners is Kodak, for its FLEXCEL NX, the sole recipient of this year’s Technical Innovation Award.

The Flexographic Technical Association (FTA) recognized a host of companies and individuals at its Awards Banquet of Foundation of FTA’s 2009 Forum in Lake Buena Vista, FL, USA, on May 3.

Sixty-five companies were recognized with 135 prizes in the Excellence in Flexography Awards competition. Among the winners, nine were bestowed with “Best of Show” honors. In the Narrow Web category, Paragon Label took home the top prize for its Francis Ford Coppola Russo Shiraz label.

Jim Koppes of Monarch Engraving, one of the narrow web judges, says, “The Best of Show, Coppola Shiraz, impressed us because it was made with analog plates.” The reproduction of highlight dots with optimum impression and plate settings was another noteworthy attribute. Further, he says, “The match to the contract proof was excellent.”

The FTA selected the Kodak FLEXCEL NX Digital Flexographic System as the sole recipient of its 2009 Technical Innovation Award. The award recognizes companies that have developed new or improved innovative technology and printing techniques.

“Kodak brings a wealth of knowledge and market insight to its family of flexo platemaking solutions, and to be recognized by one of the industry’s premier associations speaks to the quality, efficiency, and productivity we’ve been able to deliver to customers with the FLEXCEL NX System,” says John Cross, general manager, Packaging Products, Prepress Solutions, Kodak.

A number of Kodak customers also received Excellence in Print Awards in a variety of categories for projects produced using the FLEXCEL NX System. “We congratulate our customers on these well-deserved recognitions and will continue to bring them innovative solutions to help grow their businesses,” adds Cross.

A trio of industry volunteers received a President’s Award, acknowledging their dedicated service and contributions to the industry, as well as their support for the FTA. The honors went to Mark Coffman of Dixie Graphics, Paul Lancelle of Eastman Kodak Co., and Allen Marquardt of Kimberly-Clark Corp.

Also, the FTA inducted Mark R. Mazur, a digital prepress consultant for DuPont Imaging Technologies, into its Hall of Fame. He is now the 47th person to have this honor. Mazur is as a long-time advocate of using FIRST (FTA's Flexographic Image Reproduction Specifications and Tolerances), hand-in-hand with color management, to certify that what is printing on press matches what was approved by the print buyer on the proof.

“Mark was instrumental in the compilation and update of FIRST 4.0. He is committed to moving our art toward science and in the process moving this whole industry forward and making things better for us all,” says fellow Hall of Famer Jean Jackson.

blog comments powered by Disqus
  • New press debuts at Gallus Innovation Days

    New press debuts at Gallus Innovation Days

    Greg Hrinya, Associate Editor||September 26, 2016
    The Gallus Labelmaster features speeds up to 200 m/m and high register accuracy.

  • EskoWorld 2016 provides drupa report

    Greg Hrinya, Associate Editor||September 22, 2016
    “Digital was a very clear and striving theme across drupa, and more specifically inkjet,” said Jan de Roeck

  • Dollars and sense at Labelexpo

    Dollars and sense at Labelexpo

    Steve Katz, Editor||September 20, 2016
    Suppliers seem aware of the crowded digital press marketplace and the trepidation of the cost-concious first time buyer.

  • Getting Educated at Labelexpo

    Getting Educated at Labelexpo

    Steve Katz, Editor||September 7, 2016
    With a wide range of presentations, expert-led master classes and machinery demonstrations, there is no shortage of learning

  • Drupa 2016 a ‘resounding success’

    Drupa 2016 a ‘resounding success’

    Steve Katz, Editor||July 15, 2016
    The label industry was well-represented as visitors showed strong interest in the latest printing technologies.

  • Anilox Cleaning Equipment

    Anilox Cleaning Equipment

    Steve Katz, Editor||July 15, 2016
    Machinery manufacturers are dedicated to making sure the “heart of flexo” is well maintained.