Breaking News

Connecticut converter wins top FTA Environmental Excellence Award

March 22, 2010

Specialty Printing and Robbie Fantastic Flexibles were honored for outstanding achievements in environmental programs.

The Flexographic Technical Association (FTA) has recognized two of its member companies in the 10th Annual FTA Environmental Excellence Award competition for their outstanding achievements. Specialty Printing LLC of East Windsor, CT, USA, took top honors in the competition with its process improvement initiatives, and Robbie Fantastic Flexibles of Lenexa, KS, USA, earned an honorable mention.

Specialty Printing is a label manufacturer dedicated to the design and conversion of forms, labels and packaging products for the government, medical and retail industries. The facility implemented a recycling, conservation and cost savings project that boasts a significant positive impact on the environment.

Specialty Printing undertook its project to become a better steward of the environment and in response to the demands of its customers and suppliers. This was combined with the company’s effort to cut costs by utilizing more efficient methods that increased productivity while reducing the waste of natural resources (electricity, water and paper), and reducing the amounts of waste produced as a result of manufacturing. As a result of this program, Specialty Printing was able to reduce running waste an average of one million feet per month, reduce setup times by more than half, and significantly reduce water consumption. This further amounted to an increased employee understanding and participation with conservation processes.

Robbie Fantastic Flexibles produces bags, pouches and packaging films for a variety of markets.The company, a certified SGP Printer, developed a sustainability program using the Sustainable Green Printing PartnershipTM criteria as the framework. Robbie implemented a continuous improvement project resulting in 15 percent landfill reduction by December 2009 and a goal of another 15 percent by December 2010.

Awards were presented at the National Environmental, Health & Safety Conference in Indianapolis, IN, USA, on March 16.